UChicago Obama Scholars hope to create a better world


This fall, the University of Chicago Obama Foundation Scholars Program named 18 students—including six from Chicago Booth—as UChicago Obama Scholars for the 2023–24 academic year.

The six UChicago Obama Scholars from Booth are Benya Kraus Beacom, Laura Kinter, Jordan Lewis, Amaral Medeiros, Kim H. Tran, and Christopher Wen.

Other students in this year’s cohort come from UChicago’s Harris School of Public Policy and the Crown Family School of Social Work, Policy, and Practice. Outside of UChicago, students from Columbia University were also named Obama Scholars.

The Obama Foundation Scholars program aims to help emerging leaders explore the connection between global impact and local engagement. Half of the Scholars plan to remain in Chicago, making a local impact after the scholarship ends.

As part of the program, students will participate in academic, skills-based, and experiential learning. They’ll also join a leadership development program led by the Obama Foundation, which includes training, networking, and support beyond graduation.

“It is our hope that this experience will inspire them to realize and surface novel solutions to some of the most important problems facing our communities,” said UChicago president Paul Alivisatos, AB ’81.

Click here to read the full story. 

This story was first published by UChicago Booth. 

Back to News
Related articles